dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Remix #1: If Ulysses met Hamlet


It little profits that an idle king

Lose the name of action

I cannot rest from travel; I will drink life to the lees

And enterprises of great pitch and moment

I am become a name

No traveler returns

I am part of all that I have met

The undiscover’d country

The untraveled world whose margin fades

The dread of something after death

To rust unburnished, not to shine in use

That patient merit of th’unworthy takes

As though to breathe were life

For who would bear the whips and scorns of time

To follow knowledge like a sinking star beyond the utmost bond of human thought

That makes calamity of so long life

This labor, by slow prudence to make mild a rugged people

Must give us pause

Souls that have toiled and wrought, and thought with me

What dreams may come

Some work of noble note, may yet be done

Tis a consummation devoutly to be wished

Come, my friends, ’tis not too late to seek a newer world

To say we end the heart-ache and the thousand natural shocks that flesh is heir to

Though much is taken, much abides

Take up arms against a sea of troubles

And though we are not now that strength which in old days moved earth and heaven

Tis nobler in the mind to suffer

That which we are, we are

To be or not to be

Strong in will to survive, to seek, to find, and not to yield

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Remix #1: If Ulysses met Hamlet

  1. ~Lady Day on said:

    You’re a gem to have back.

    • So the experiment is a success?

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        You are a pleasure to read, but your deeper meanings and great reference to other liturature and history, I leave to the scholars of the planet…I’m just a stay at home who reads and writes. As far as your experiment goes…I have no idea…I would have to go back and re-read both those works, and then yours…you will always be far more well read then me Dan. Hugs to you, and hope you are well.

      • Doing well my friend and pray you are as well, and as always, you make my reading list, so I appreciate your input every time!

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        Well thank goodness you still read…I am honoured.x I have honestly been dampened by some odd stalker like follower…someone dropping messages in my search window…it creeps me out..and now, I’m just more guarded in general…with pretty much everyone…I comment less, but read everyone I can…you will always be on my reading list too. You were, as I said, missed. Hugs to you Dan.

      • That is such a shame! I will miss our ‘versed’ conversations. Stay safe and know you are read and missed! ~D

  2. Oh Dan ~ ~ Truly Truly adored this – as I do you and your gift!
    (a sequel to my ‘most famous question’ post 🙂
    … this was brilliant and uplifting!
    “Tis nobler in the mind to suffer
    That which we are, we are
    To be or not to be
    Strong in will to survive,
    to seek, to find,
    and not to yield”

    Thank you dear friend~RL

Type your mind...