dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Skipper


English: Stone skimming, Patagonia

Cast away

We spend lifetimes gathering
Stones with which we say we’ll build
A life or something resembling
A passing through and time filled

Success, acceptance, relationships
Pile by the river as it flows
“So this is living!” someone quips
I grab a stone and practice throws

“You’re out of your mind!” is shouted
I smile as from my hand it slips
I reply, “Gathering I ever doubted
I wanted even one, unless it skips!”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Skipper

  1. I like the sentiment of the poem…we should gather at least one stone to skip. 🙂

Type your mind...

