dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

The Body


mouth

(Photo: Darwin Bell)

Often
  the mouth
    says,
 “Listen here!
All of you
   need become
          an ear!”
The neck replies
   “But you need
        support.”
Mouth comes back
  with officious
          retort
“I’ll take care of that
    on
       my
           own.”
The neck
  does not
       appreciate
          the tone
The arms say
  “This just
      cannot be.
You won’t
    be able
      to act
without
      me
       & me.
How will
   you show
 what we
      believe?”
Says mouth
“Follow my way
     or you
   can leave.”
Says the heart
   “But what of me?
If I stop
   beating
we’ll cease to be!”
The mouth frowns
   in a show
     of disgust
“Oh ye so little
    where is thy trust?”
“You’ve got
    ALL
    the answers.”
Intones the waist
“Of course I do
   I’m the ONE
      with taste!”
“Hold on a moment.”
   Cry the legs
          in doubt.
The mouth ignores them
    They’re
         Left
         Right
                 out
“But without us
       how will we
              go?”
The feet exclaimed,
 “We’d like to know!”
But mouth
   he ever
        blusters on
Until he finds
    his members
                          gone
I hope he
     realizes
   where
       he went wrong
Without love
       he’s
 a sounding gong
I pray you
   digest
       the meat
   you’re fed
The mouth
   is upon
     But
   is not
     the Head
Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “The Body

  1. Pawan Hira (awakeningpsyche) on said:

    Oh, this is so beautiful, you have connected every thing. Insightful and poetic love.

  2. Love this…very obsessed with body parts Dan — long story 🙂 You work wonders with your words ~~RL

  3. ~Lady Day on said:

    Now that my paint is drying for the day I have time to say…this is a deep one…love it..I love it’s chemical to biological nature…;)You are a clever one:)

  4. How clever – I especially love the lines about the legs being ignored:
    ‘They’re
    Left
    Right
    out’
    Wonderful writing 🙂

  5. you did a great job on this one, love it!

Type your mind...

