dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Choral


Aurora Borealis, the colored lights seen in th...

(Photo: Beverly & Pack)

If what we are is written on the vellum underneath
Are we slated to be defeated or be crowned with wreath
And so rest on our laurels

Can we truly be free to so inscribe our own fate
Are we predestined to discover for our soul a mate
And shine combined aurorals

If prewrit can we fit a life between the lines
Can we whiteout deja vu of doubt and comprehend the signs
As life twists and turns and gnarls

Perhaps step by step and mile by mile
We’ll write in traveling our lifestyle
Amidst choices loves and quarrels

Single Post Navigation

25 thoughts on “Choral

  1. love the line and shine combined aurolas …

  2. sorry meant aurorals

  3. love this one, Dan. ~ Bobbie

  4. ~Lady Day on said:

    This is an intriguing and complex piece. I like it as always…I think we are free to scribe our own paths, with certain things laid out to teach us, we can learn or pay the price for our ignorance..you?

    • I live as though I can choose, but at times I catch glimpses of my wiring that makes me wonder what I’m preset to gravitate toward…step by step, mile by mile…

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        I know…I was talking about this while out today with another spiritual soul. We don’t really believe it, but then we see it and we have to wonder don’t we?

      • Indeed. Just what is choice and whom is it that tips the scales?

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        Well, I feel like it was designed balanced, and we all tip the scales maybe? Rather than anothers finger involved at all times…

      • I once wrote that I think it’s like a crosscut saw. What could be meant to harm us may end up being used to cut away what is not wanted…

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        eek! that is painful sounding. What is meant to harm us? There are truly bad things, that I really don’t think are cutting away unwanted, often the trail is black and cold and brutal…not to go into huge detail, but sometimes, it cuts away the good, not the bad

      • Agreed it can, but consider that, like Michelangelo, there is something under all our rocky exterior and some of us needs to be removed to reveal the beautiful sculpture that already exists…

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        ummmm, no. Not to be argumentative, but I heard of the children in Rwanda, who stayed alive days in swirming slow deaths, machetes slugged into their skulls…this is not for good, of any kind, this is evil, pure and simple. Of no value.

      • You misunderstand me. I do not say evil is for good, that clearly is an oxymoron. I am saying that there are circumstances that may seem evil, but are rather more uncomfortable. They cause us to change. Either to grow or to remain smaller than we could be. Evil cannot produce good, though it can be worked TO good, but obstacles, difficulties, stress, ad infinitum, can be a catalyst which causes us to shed or chip away what held us back.

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        lol…well said. You chose careful words. Ah, big spiritual conversations are better had in non commenting space, I feel bad we’ve flooded you comment section on a really well done write. But most certainly, I would have more more and more to say here 🙂 Especially since you are ‘versed’

      • Is that not the point of poetry? To bring out what should be said and cause us to share with each other? Never apologize for that!
        I have much to say myself. 😉

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        lol..yes.that is the point sometimes…and yes, you may be the wordy-est person besides myself on here …lol,And I could talk on spiritual issues for days, so that you can too, well this is interesting. Not many people in our age group know spirituality anymore

      • But many are seeking. They desire a connection, but have been burned by commitment…

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        hmmm, commitment to what?

      • Tradition mostly. Preconceived ideas. Misconstrued ideals. False community.

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        Well, that’s true enough…I prefer to say I am not religious, but spiritual, and tradition is just that…a bad habit most of the time, at least where faith is concerned. It needs to be heartfelt, not ritualistic

      • Ritual can create a connection, but when it is done merely as a religion, then it might as well be called habit. I think tradition cements rituals into a reef and shipwrecks many adventurous souls. I too am spiritual and see the need for communities that are learning to worship in spirit and truth.

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        Ahh Spirit and Truth…this scripture I know well too…we will chat more on this one day I’m sure. 🙂

Type your mind...

