dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Forecast


The sun seen through stratus clouds. Taken wit...

(Photo: Wikipedia)

I could not see the sun today
As it rose behind the gray
The world just got a new shade of bright
Darkness had to concede the fight

I could not feel the rain today
Though I needed to wash away
All my childish nightmare fright
So I rather bathed in light

I could not sense the wind today
It did not come out to dance and play
Or blow back all that is trite
So instead I sail on wings of right

It’s often that I find life today
Like a sunless, dry, windless day
Answers and joy come not forthright
But then tomorrow is within sight

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Forecast

  1. ~Lady Day on said:

    Ah Dan…don’t we all have days like this…I hope at the very least joy is not so allusive…answers, some days they are very brutally unavailable. But as you say…there is always tomorrow. Your work here is great as always. Hope you a great day! ~R

    • Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow! You have a good one now and then too. πŸ˜‰

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        Having found this little community that lines my pockets with poetry, fuels me every day now…I have not all the answers I seek, but I do have a joy, that there are still poets that walk with my soul.

      • Amen and amen dear Lady. I started this as an experiment, I wanted to see if my words spoke to anyone else. The results have been wholly other than I expected, but the alchemy has become a needed balm. The numbers and stats are nice, but the community far outweighs it.

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        I wrote a big long reply that my computer ate…long story short, I get that, totally. There are ‘great’ poets still here, they did not die off the earth, even if we do not line the bookshelves in the stores and libraries…we are here. lol, and I am brave enough to declare, we are great poets, a precious few of us. Lol. To each other.

      • That’ll preach girl!

      • ~Lady Day on said:

        lol πŸ™‚ Have a great writing day! And a good one besides too!

  2. ….few things (well, a couple) inspire as much as a rainy day……so enjoy the puddles with a pen πŸ˜€

  3. Deborah Avila on said:

    This is choice!

Type your mind...

