dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

64


An example of early-style Staunton Chess Set

(Photo: Wikipedia)

No matter
   how I
       view the
          thing
It seems
   that I
      am not
          the King
And never
   have enough
      freedom seen
To even
   suggest I
       could be
          Queen
And though
  near clean
    and purged
           by hyssop
I find
  I am not
      the Bishop
And though
    I often
       strive for
           right
I never
    was
       asked to be
          the Knight
And though
   command
       I often
          took
I see
   that I am
       not
         the Rook
And so the
    truth
      doth
        finally
          dawn
In truth
    I’ve ever been
          the Pawn
And though
     I may become
            sacrifice
Move after
    move
        I pay
           the price
And rank
         by
        rank
          file by file
I’ll become
     what I wish
                         and smile
Single Post Navigation

24 thoughts on “64

  1. I am all of the above as I just ignore the rule, but on the crown and do my own thing

  2. I’ll become
         what I wish
    ~~me toooo~love^_^

  3. ~Lady Day on said:

    And aren’t we all, aren’t we all. Ever the pawn…if of course I play chess…perhaps the game needs to be switched…

  4. Too many rules and not enough time…….. 😉 But I do love this piece, Dan. ~ Love, B

  5. I really like that! “I’ll become what I wish” nice!

Type your mind...

