dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Me-che


Cliche

(Photo: Tom Newby )

In this grand experiment life
I am more than just a cog
I am that bit of tail
what’s learned to wag the dog

I am the sound of
A singular hand clapping
(Hate to break it to you
I sound so much like snapping)

I am the sound of
A tree in the woods alone
And I crash down I must say
Sorry about your koan

At the speed of light
Yes, my headlights shine
At the speed of sound
There’s no horn quite like mine

I can park on parkways and
I do drive on driveways
I see color in my answers
instead of white, blacks, and greys

I touch with ten foot pole
What others often shun
I grab tigers by the tail
Just to have some fun

I bite off more than I can chew
For my eyes are bigger than my gut
I am that clear mud you see
I’m not stuck in a rut

I can see through the trees
And recognize the forest
I am the mountain that you climb
Though once a molehill flourished

I am the cart they placed before
The horse and still I find
Like me there is greener grass
And others of my kind

I am the dog so talked about
But never had my day
So many impossibilities to be
If you only find a way

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Me-che

  1. ~Lady Day on said:

    1000xlike=this piece 🙂

  2. This is really great Dan. Nice work!

  3. thesubterraneanworld on said:

    WOW!!! Your work is making me crazy..
    Such a splendid poet you are 🙂
    Regards,
    Naima.

  4. Ah yes… that’s one way to deal with cliches… Very clever!

  5. Love this destructive piece….cliches should run and hide from your mighty pen:)

Type your mind...

