dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Why I Quit Chess and Became a Poet


Checkmate

(Credit: Wikipedia)

64 squares putting on airs
My intellect over yours
Outside the box, Oh you sly fox
Checkmate to even the scores

Meanwhile outside
I missed the beauty
Butterflies, hummingbirds
Knights plodding duty

My heart moved obliquely
My king self to protect
While my soul jumped like checkers
Awareness erect

A friend said You missed it
And then I was struck
That strategy for living
Was more than skilled luck

It was seeing unseen
And capturing the magic
From rainbows to dying
From love to the tragic

So I wrote and still do
Just hoping that You
Clear the board for a few
And just enjoy the view

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Why I Quit Chess and Became a Poet

  1. From rainbows to dying
    From love to the tragic~wow~wow~ur imagination is very powerful~

  2. My goodness Dan, how sharp and clever! Loved every way you placed yourself in each verse! WONDERFUL ~Sincerely Deborah

  3. ~R.L.King on said:

    Very good 🙂 lol, ah, I love this, Nicely written Dan

    • “Poets do not go mad; but chess-players do. Mathematicians go mad, and cashiers; but creative artists very seldom” – G. K. Chesterson

      • ~R.L.King on said:

        lol, let’s all hope that’s true! Of course, don’t they say, that crazy people are crazy because they think they’re sane…lol, maybe we truly are all ‘mad’…lol.

  4. R. L. – “All are lunatics, but he who can analyze his delusions is called a philosopher.”
    Ambrose Bierce

Type your mind...

