dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Night Sailing


I have stood in the cold
Stared at the moon
Bare-chested
Bold
And she never blinked
I have lain on the deck
Stared at the masts
Reflected
Wreck
And wondered at the stars
I have walked under dark
Talked with shadows
Listened
Hark
And the crossroads were silent
I have lacked understanding
Watched the sky move
Brilliant
Grandstanding
And wished to live in this awe
I have learned there is more
Learned most in just
Watching
Shore
And night as it grows
I have grown in one night
Expanded star
Living
Light
And breathed moment by moment in beauty
I have only one desire
Having her there
Beside
Fire
And love in that brightly lit gloom
I have need to master
Living deliberate not
Slower
Faster
And match Night in its rhythm
Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Night Sailing

  1. Wow! I love this.

  2. iamlenise on said:

    This is lovely..Thanks for the smile πŸ™‚

  3. Ooooh, sailing through the night – I’m still working on ‘Having her there / Beside / Fire / And love in that brightly lit gloom …’ which seems delightfully evocative but I’m not sure I’ve truly understood … I like the rhythm and the way you use line breaks for emphasis.

    • This was a very specific event and the longing that accompanied it. The rhythm and rhyme were an experiment. Thanks for your comment. As for the meaning….make it yours.

  4. Thank you for writing this…
    your words took me back to a time upon the indigo sea…
    a night experience which changed a Way of looking at Life…
    peaceful it was…and Is.

Type your mind...

