dpbowman

The posings of a poet.

Divination from the flight of Birds


Herein the tale of the madness of King Yours
truly
Your similar experience has been noted
duly
A mind afrighted takes to wing and soars
aloft
Thoughts scatter like seagulls as the light wanes
soft
Dreams dance as gossamer milkweed
tufts
Imagination strains to fill in the blanks and returns
rebuffed
Consternations appear in a dim mental
astronomy
Inventiveness creates constellations of
autonomy
Perfected phrases flit and dip and
flutter
Unnested children of my mind fall deeply into
clutter
Beauteous simple syncopations swoop and dive at my
trespass
Misunderstanding squawk as I trip on their nestling in the
grass
As I tried to describe this gaggling exaltation in my
head
It is as if I’m herding birds that do not wish to land but cry out to be
fed
Were I to ignore the words they’d only circle me like
carrion
So much for the hope of becoming truly
libertarian
Here words, come thoughts, I’ve a packet here of
feed
If you peck at a poet doth his soul not
bleed
Single Post Navigation

Type your mind...

